A Dialogue With Indigenous Peoples

We acknowledge that we are located on the traditional lands of the Anishinaabe, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation.

We respect the Treaties that were made on these territories. We also acknowledge that the peaceful and respectful meeting of Indigenous and French-Canadian peoples gave rise to the Métis nations and communities of North America.

We acknowledge the mistakes of the past, and we dedicate ourselves to moving forward in partnership with Indigenous communities in the same spirit of peace, sharing and collaboration that guided our French-Canadian and Indigenous ancestors.

Université de Saint-Boniface recognizes that postsecondary institutions must take the lead in response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s calls for action. We have taken steps in this direction, including the decision to be a signatory to the province’s Aboriginal Education Action Plan. Presently, we wish to develop an institutional vision and create a global operational plan adapted to our reality as a minority institution rooted in specific territorial and historical context.

The following sections outline our reflections, commitments and ongoing projects. Our focus is on using dialogue and education, with a respectful and genuine approach, as we advance toward Francophone-Indigenous reconciliation..

© 2013-2019 Université de Saint-Boniface

Un dialogue avec les peuples autochtones

Nous reconnaissons être réunis sur les territoires traditionnels des peuples anichinabé, cri, oji-cri, dakota et déné, et sur la patrie de la Nation métisse.

Nous respectons les traités qui ont été signés sur ces territoires. Nous reconnaissons également que c’est la rencontre entre les Premières nations et les Canadiens français qui a donné naissance aux nations et communautés métisses de l’Amérique du Nord.

Nous reconnaissons les erreurs du passé et nous nous engageons à aller de l’avant en partenariat avec les communautés autochtones dans le même esprit de paix, de partage et de collaboration qui régnait parmi les ancêtres canadiens-français et autochtones.

L’Université de Saint-Boniface reconnait le leadeurship dont les établissements postsecondaires doivent faire preuve pour répondre aux appels de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation. C’est d’ailleurs dans cet esprit qu’elle a entre autres choisi d’être signataire du Plan d’action provincial pour l’éducation autochtone et qu’elle souhaite maintenant élaborer une vision globale pour l'Université et un plan opérationnel global adaptés à la réalité de l’établissement, c'est-à-dire une réalité linguistique minoritaire ancrée dans un contexte territorial et historique précis.

Les sections connexes font état de notre réflexion, de nos engagements et des projets en cours. Nous misons donc sur le dialogue et l’apprentissage pour mieux aller vers la réconciliation francophone‑autochtone, le tout dans une démarche respectueuse et authentique.

© 2013-2020 Université de Saint-Boniface