Initiatives

Activities

Blanket Exercise

The Blanket Exercise is organized annually―sometimes multiple times per year― by Spiritual Enrichment. The program seeks to deepen understanding of how the nation status of Indigenous peoples has been denied throughout Canada’s history. It explores the primary themes and recommendations of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, examines how federal policies and programs affect the Indigenous peoples of Canada, and identifies what Indigenous peoples and their allies are doing to bring about positive change.

Introduction to Cree

An introductory workshop to French and Cree was organized by USB’s Continuing Education Division (CED) through a partnership with Indigenous Languages of Manitoba. The workshop was held on April 19 and 26 and May 3, 2018.

Immersive journeys into Indigenous culture organized by Spiritual Enrichment.

Presentations have been held at USB, such as the roundtable Leçons de réconciliation : les séquelles des pensionnats autochtones et des pistes de solution [Lessons of reconciliation: the consequences of residential schools and ways forward], on March 9, 2016. For an audience of approximately one hundred people, seven (7) invited panellists described their experiences surrounding their Indigenous origins and residential schools while proposing solutions for Francophone and Indigenous peoples to work together to promote reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples.

Raising awareness about violence against women

A presentation by the School of Social Work took place on March 26, 2015, to raise awareness in the community about violence against Indigenous women and to honour the memory of the missing and murdered Indigenous women.

A special event to commemorate the 14 victims of the Polytechnique massacre and to reflect on violence against women was held in the Étienne Gaboury Student Centre at USB on December 6, 2019. White ribbons and pins were distributed. Fourteen candles were lit by 14 different people as photos of the victims were displayed on a screen. One minute of silence was observed. This commemoration was a moment to reflect on present-day violence, which affects Indigenous women in particular. The ceremony began and concluded with an Indigenous invocation to the beat of a drum. Three red dresses, symbolizing missing and murdered Indigenous women in Canada, were hung above the stage. Université de Saint-Boniface would like to make this an annual event.

The impact of residential schools in Canada

A public forum, in September 2014, featured speakers such as Marie Wilson, Robert-Falcon Ouellette, Ry Moran and Madeleine Basile. The forum opened with the photography exhibit 100 Years of Loss by the Legacy of Hope Foundation, presented in the USB Gallery from September 29 to October 31, 2014. For more information on the exhibit, visit the website: legacyofhope.ca/generations-lost/exhibition/.

Partnerships and collaborations

National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation

The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR) was established at the University of Manitoba in partnership with universities, colleges and other organizations across the country. Université de Saint-Boniface is one of these partners. Our contribution is unique, given our role as protector and promoter of the French language, as well as our continuing contribution to the development of the Manitoban Francophonie as a whole. As a minority institution located in a specific geographical space and rooted in a unique historical context, USB has notably committed to offer diverse courses and initiatives that reflect this reality and to strengthen its ties with the Métis community. As part of its partnership with the NCTR, USB intends to collaborate on mutually beneficial activities.

Partnership between the CED and the Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba

Recognizing the need to provide its teaching staff with credible and reliable content about Indigenous and Métis peoples, USB’s Continuing Education Division (CED) created a partnership with the Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba (UNM) to create new educational material on these themes. Thanks to funding from the department of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC), USB will be responsible for creating 10 thematic units or “real-life tasks,” which will be added to the LINC program curriculum. The UNM’s expertise has been called on not only to steer the CED in its choice of themes but also to validate the content created for the guides, workbooks and assessment tools. This collaborative approach will enable the CED to reliably recount the history of the Métis of Manitoba in the classroom.

Through the CED, USB offers Language Instruction for Newcomers to Canada (LINC) for beginning levels (Canadian Language Benchmarks – CLB 1 to 4). These courses help individuals who are permanent residents to learn one of the official languages and thereby improve their ability to settle in Canada. The CED uses a variety of themes related to settlement in its program as primary material for teaching French (education, health, employment, etc.).

 

© 2013-2019 Université de Saint-Boniface

Initiatives en lien avec la réconciliation

Activités

Exercice des couvertures

L'exercice des couvertures est organisée annuellement, parfois à plusieurs reprises, par le Service d'animation spirituelle. L’atelier a pour but d’approfondir la compréhension du déni du statut de nation des peuples autochtones tout au long de l’histoire du Canada. Il explore les thèmes principaux et les recommandations de la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones, examine comment les politiques et programmes fédéraux influencent les peuples autochtones du Canada, et identifie ce que font les peuples autochtones et leurs alliés pour apporter des changements positifs.

Initiation au cri

Un atelier d’initiation au français et au cri a été organisé par la Division de l’éducation permanente (DEP) de l'USB, grâce à un partenariat avec Indigenous Languages of Manitoba. L'atelier a eu lieu les 19 et 26 avril et le 3 mai 2018.

Des voyages d’immersion dans la culture autochtone ont été organisés par le Service d’animation spirituelle.

La tenue de conférences au sein de l’établissement. Mentionnons, à titre d’exemple, la table ronde Leçons de réconciliation : les séquelles des pensionnats autochtones et des pistes de solution, le 9 mars 2016. Devant un public d’une centaine de personnes, sept panélistes invités ont décrit leurs expériences concernant leur origine amérindienne et les écoles résidentielles tout en proposant des pistes permettant aux francophones et aux autochtones de travailler ensemble pour favoriser la réconciliation entre les peuples autochtones et non autochtones.

Sensibilisation à la violence faite aux femmes

Une présentation par l'École de travail social, qui s'est déroulée le 26 mars 2015, afin de sensibiliser la communauté à la violence à laquelle sont assujetties les femmes autochtones et pour honorer la mémoire de celles disparues et assassinées.

Une activité spéciale de commémoration des 14 victimes de L'École polytechnique de Montréal et de réflexion sur la violence faite aux femmes a eu lieu au centre étudiant Étienne-Gaboury de l’USB le 6 décembre 2019. Rubans blancs et épinglettes ont été offerts. Quatorze cierges ont été allumés par 14 personnes différentes, les photos des victimes se succédant sur écran. Une minute de silence a été observée. Cette commémoration fut un moment de réflexion à la violence actuelle, qui se manifeste en particulier envers les femmes autochtones. Ainsi, la cérémonie a commencé et s’est terminée par une invocation autochtone, au son du tambour. Trois robes rouges, rappelant les femmes autochtones du pays disparues et assassinées du pays, étaient accrochées en haut de l’estrade. L’Université de Saint-Boniface aimerait répéter cette initiative annuellement.

L'impact des pensionnats autochtones au Canada

Un forum public qui accueillait en septembre 2014 des orateurs, tels Marie Wilson, Robert-Falcon Ouellette, Ry Moran, et Madeleine Basile. Le forum a été lancé par l'exposition de photos 100 ans de pertes de la Fondation, en place dans la Galerie de l'USB du 29 septembre au 31 octobre 2014. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’exposition, consultez le site Web : 100ansdepertes.ca/fr/

Partenariats et collaborations

Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation

Le Centre national pour la vérité et réconciliation (CNVR) est établi à l’Université du Manitoba en partenariat avec des universités, des collèges et d’autres organisations de partout au pays.  L’Université de Saint-Boniface est l’un de ces partenaires, dont la contribution est particulière étant donné son rôle de protectrice et de promotrice de la langue française, de même que sa contribution soutenue au développement de la francophonie manitobaine au sens large. Comme établissement de la minorité situé dans un espace géographique et ancré dans un contexte historique unique, l’USB contribue notamment par l’offre de cours et d’initiatives variées qui reflètent cette réalité et par la bonification des liens qu’elle entretient avec la communauté métisse. Dans le cadre de ce partenariat avec le CNVR, l’intention de l’USB est de collaborer à des activités apportant un bénéfice mutuel.

Partenariat de la DEP avec l’Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba

Reconnaissant le besoin de fournir à ses ressources enseignantes du contenu fiable et fidèle portant sur les peuples autochtones et Métis, la Division de l’éducation permanente (DEP) de l’USB a bâti un partenariat avec l’Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba (UNMSJ) visant à créer du nouveau matériel didactique portant sur ces thèmes. Grâce au financement du ministère d’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC), l’USB se chargera d’élaborer dix capsules thématiques ou « tâches de la vie réelle » qui serviront à alimenter le curriculum du programme CLIC. L’expertise de l’UNM est sollicitée non seulement pour aiguiller la DEP dans le choix de thèmes, mais pour valider le contenu élaboré dans les guides, cahiers et outils d’évaluation. Cette approche collaborative permettra à la DEP de raconter fidèlement l’histoire des Métis du Manitoba en salle de classe.

Par l’entremise de la DEP, l’USB offre des Cours de langue aux immigrants du Canada (CLIC) pour les niveaux débutants (Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens – NCLC 1 à 4). L’offre de ces cours a pour but d’aider les personnes qui sont résidents permanents à mieux s’établir au Canada en apprenant une des langues officielles. La DEP utilise une variété de thèmes liés à l’établissement dans son programme comme matière source pour faire apprendre le français (éducation, santé, emploi, etc.).

ministère d’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC)

© 2013-2020 Université de Saint-Boniface