NEWS & EVENTS | May 25, 2017

Université de Saint-Boniface Renews Haiti/Manitoba Continuing Education in Leadership Agreement With Nine Education Partners

Jean Elie Larrieux, président du CREFI-Haïti au podium lors d'une conférence de presse

Jean Elie Larriaux, president of CREFI-Haïti during a press conference held on May 25, 2017 at USB.

A collaboration agreement with the Centre for Education, Research and Psychological Interventions (CREFI) in Haiti and nine partners in the field of education was renewed for another three years.

Under this agreement, the two institutions and nine partners commit to hosting a minimum of six Master of Education students from Haiti each year (2017-2018-2019) to complete a practicum in Manitoba.

“The practicum is 3 to 4 weeks in duration and gives students the opportunity to spend time in Manitoban schools while pursuing research for their master’s program,” stated Professor Jules Rocque, the practicum advisor. “Université de Saint-Boniface is proud to support the professional development of school administrators and teachers.” 

“This agreement aims to promote the sharing and dissemination of knowledge between these two academic institutions, while encouraging collaboration and dialog between practitioners in the context of learning, teaching and leadership in education,” explained USB President, Gabor Csepregi.

Jean Elie Larrieux, President of Haiti’s CREFI, highlighted that a great friendship has developed between these two institutions. “Through the renewal of this continuing education in leadership agreement, I see a true desire to support the development of a better school system in Haiti. The practicum in Manitoba will allow education professionals, both Manitoban and Haitian, to further dialog on teaching and administrative best practices, thereby enriching everyone’s personal and professional knowledge.”

The project was initiated by USB Professors Jules Rocque and Corinne Barrett DeWiele, and Professor Larrieux, for which the first memorandum of understanding was signed at Université de Saint-Boniface in April 2012.   

The nine partners taking part in the accord are the following:

  • Association manitobaine des directrices et directeurs des écoles d’immersion française
  • Association des directions des écoles franco-manitobaines
  • Manitoba Teachers’ Society
  • Éducatrices et éducateurs francophones du Manitoba
  • Division scolaire franco-manitobaine
  • Louis Riel School Division
  • Pembina Trails School Division
  • Seine River School Division
  • Seven Oaks School Division

© 2013-2023 Université de Saint-Boniface