NEWS & EVENTS | June 10, 2024

Convocation: USB awards 224 university diplomas

Education graduates.Four USB education graduates show off their diplomas.


Université de Saint-Boniface (USB) awarded 224 university diplomas during two convocation ceremonies on Monday, June 10 at St. Boniface Cathedral.

Numerous award and medal recipients were also recognized on this day of celebration.

Celebrating excellence

Five graduates received medals for achieving the highest average in their bachelor’s or master’s degree programs.

Medals of Excellence:

  • Arts – Master’s: Jacqueline Campbell
  • Arts – Undergraduate: Natasha Perkins
  • Business Administration: Joel Perkins
  • Social Work: Gabrielle Simard
  • Science: Sarah Mann

The University of Manitoba Gold Medal Award was granted to Claire Morham (Bachelor of Arts). This medal is presented to the graduate with the highest grade point average for the final two years of an undergraduate program.

A number of awards were also be presented based on criteria specific to each award.

Merit Awards:

  • Marcel A. Desautels Award: Joel Perkins (Business Administration)
  • Lucien St-Vincent Award: Talia Dacquay (Education)
  • Manitoba Association of Mathematics Teachers Award: Milynda Boulter (Education)
  • Gilbert Rosset Award: Theresa Meinders (Education)
  • Luc Alarie Award: Claire Morham (Arts)
  • Paul Ruest Award: Claire Morham (Arts)
  • Raymonde Gagné Award: Gabrielle Simard (Social Work)
  • EFM Award: Sarah Lamontagne-Rougeau (Education)
  • Association of Chartered Professional Accountants (CPA) Award:
    • Gabrielle Bernardin (Business Administration)
    • Ibrahim Bezzahou (Business Administration)

Outstanding Contribution to Student Life:

  • Alumni Network Award: Rylee Blaquiere (Education)
  • Investors Group Award of Excellence: Jani Comeault (Science)
  • Powercorp Award of Excellence: Alexa Harvey (Science)

Honorary doctorate

Université de Saint-Boniface (USB) conferred the degree of Doctor Honoris Causa on Léo Robert, in recognition of his remarkable dedication to defending the rights of Francophones in Manitoba and supporting French-language education in the province.

A teacher by training, Léo Robert is a leading figure in Manitoba’s Francophone community. For more than 35 years, he has embodied the vitality and determination that continues to drive Francophone education in Manitoba. His influence extends far beyond the classroom, impacting school administration and the Francophone community as a whole, where he is well known for his leadership, dedication and accomplishments.

Awarded jointly with the University of Manitoba, this doctorate is the highest degree conferred by USB. It represents an exceptional honour, which this year celebrates the extraordinary legacy of an individual whose commitment to the French-speaking community has never wavered.

Award for excellence in research

Phi-Vân Nguyen’s ability to transmit knowledge, spark curiosity and foster dialogue are all part of what makes her a remarkable history professor and researcher.

Professor Nguyen has earned an outstanding reputation in Vietnamese historical studies, a field in which she occupies a prominent and influential position. Her ability to carry out cutting-edge scholarly research—and effectively communicate the results—is clear evidence of her exceptional talents as a professor and researcher.

Highly respected by her peers and well known in the research community, Dr. Nguyen was presented with the Award for Excellence in Research  at the Université de Saint-Boniface (USB) convocation ceremony in June 2024, in recognition of her outstanding achievements in research, her commitment to knowledge dissemination, and her work to develop USB’s research culture.

The Award for Excellence in Research is awarded to faculty members who distinguish themselves by the extent and the quality of their research work.


The ceremonywas streamed live on USB’s YouTube channel at On social media, key moments of the celebration could be followed by using the hashtag #collationUSB.

© 2013-2023 Université de Saint-Boniface